New Years Blues & Microgreens

First off, HAPPY NEW YEAR! Can’t believe it’s already over half way through January. Holy moly. Not to be a downer, but 2013 has not started off so hot for me. It began with getting this nasty flu that’s going around on new years eve day. Full blown flu the for the first week, back to work after 1.5 week break [always depressing], and I found my giant fluff beast has heartworms! This issue is beyond annoying because we’ve been good parents and giving him the preventative pills ever since we got him. He will have to actually have poison injected into his system and the treatment costs mucho dolores. The things we do for our canines…but I digress. Yesterday was my birthday and my lovely neighbor friend pointed out that I should use my birthday as my “new year”. I’ve already done something I never have before….bought/ate beet microgreens  [really stepping out of my comfort zone in 2013]. Supposedly these little suckers are FULL of nutritious goodness, even more so than their adult counterparts. I figure…well, what better way to turn around the vibe of 2013 than to clean-up the diet big time. Feel good inside = feel good outside – simple. [I also just ordered three pairs of pants online in a size smaller than usual – I never learn] Microgreens, not to be confused with sprouts, can have 4-6x nutrients than the adult version and add some gorgeous colors to your meals. The beets one I bought are this deep purple color and have a somewhat peppery taste, but I don’t really notice it mixed in with my usual salad. NPR gave some good info on these minis in this article.

salad[monster microgreen topped salad]

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “New Years Blues & Microgreens

  1. Valencia says:

    This design is steller! You certainly know how to keep
    a reader entertained. Between your wit and your
    videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.
    ..HaHa!) Great job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

Leave a Reply

