Flax Attack – Zucchini Bread

This recipe has never done me wrong and is the only baking recipe that I have ever memorized. I don’t bake often for two reasons, 1) most recipes make enough for 10-12 people and 2) I can’t have that big of a pastry stash in my apartment. This recipe actually isn’t too naughty, so there is no guilt involved if I finish the loaf in two days. PLEASE do not even tell me if I am off on this nutritional fact assumption. Let me live zucchini bread denial.

Stole this one out of the big book – The Joy of Cooking, and it’s a crowd pleaser. Alright, ’nuff talk, more bake:

[had to steal this picture because I never remember to take a pic until all that’s left are crumbs]

First, preheat oven to 350°

Whisk together:

1 ¼ cup flour (I used whole wheat)

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Blend well together in a separate bowl:

3/4 cup sugar

2 large eggs (beaten – no black eyes though)

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon of salt

Optional – *ground flax-seed – heavy handed Paula Dean sprinkle

Mix in the dry ingredients…slowly. Only takes a couple of stirs to combine. Then add:

2 cups shredded zucchini (usually 2 big zucchini or 3 small ones – press out excess H2O with paper towels)

Put it all into a bread pan and put it in the oven for about 45min. Definitely test it out with a knife – stick it in the center and make sure it comes out clean [I’m violent tonight – too much SVU].

*Flax is pretty awesome because it’s a natural source of fiber, micro-nutrients, and Omega-3s. With the omegs involved, ground flax-seed can actually be used in place of oil [3 tablespoon flax = 1 tablespoon of oil] I have never done a complete swap, but when I do add flax I always cut down the oil amount a tish. It doesn’t affect the taste either, so…that’s nice.

[Give it up for FLAXXXXX!]

Bake it for family, friends, new neighbors….or just for yourself, because it’s delicious. BON APPÉTIT!!!!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

