Italian Sliders – Molto Bene

Welp, first non-introductory post goes to the foodies! I present to you – Italian Sliders…


I had leftover slider buns from a Super Bowl recipe I made and I hate hate hate wasting food, so I got creative and made these bad boys. I live in the Italian section of Boston and have access to these fantastic specialty shops so it was a no-brainer for me. They are super easy, so here we go:

2  fresh cows milk mozzarella balls

1/2 lb of prosciutto

1 jar of pesto sauce (make your own if you like!)

1 package of potato dinner rolls (12 buns)

butter

I know what you’re thinking; that’s it? Yes, that’s it. Cut buns in half and lay out on a cookie tray. Put some soft butter on them and put them in a preheated 375 degree oven in order to toast them a little bit. If you like them a little crispy on top, feel free to broil them for a min or two; I did. While that is going on slice up the mozzarella into thin-ish slices. This will help it melt better in the oven. At Monica’s, my favorite specialty store, they told me to pat down the mozzarella with a paper towel to get rid of any excess water so that it won’t make the buns soggy (those guys are so great…and it’s not just because they call me bella). Once that’s done, take them out of the oven and spread some of the yummy green stuff, aka pesto, onto them. Don’t go too crazy though. A little goes a long way for these. If you haven’t already eaten all of it while slicing, put remaining mozzarella on half of the buns. Go ahead and layer on some ripped up prosciutto on top of the cheese. Finally, put the other half of the buns on top to complete the slider. Shove them back in the oven for 10-15min and THEY’RE DONE! So so so amazing. I cannot stress the simplicity but deliciousness of these little guys. Nom nom nom….





Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

